RBATC MEETS JAMES RODRIGUEZ

RBATC Meets James Rodriguez

Bienvidos mi gente to another chapter in this #NerdyGirl’s life. For this post – and I think you can tell by my huge KoolAid smile – that this entry post will be unlike any other. I’m proud of all my published work, but this one in particular holds a special place in my memory bank. So hold on to your seats chicos y chicas, ’cause it’s gonna be a bumpy Cumbia-infused ride. 😉

On the Red Bull Stadium Field Where do I begin is the real question?  Since the inception of this blog, my work has encompassed nightlife events and up-and-coming entrepreneurs – but never have I ever treaded over sports related waters – till now that tis! Well, you know what they say, there’s definitely a first time for everything. On the left hand side, is a pic of yours truly in a little field, maybe you’ve heard of it, maybe you haven’t. Ha, just teasing. Yes, ladies and jellyspoons, I’m standing on the players field at the famous Red Bull Sports Arena. A privilege reserved for a few, and here I am (Pointdexter glasses and all) amongst the pros. What an incredible introduction to a sport that caters to an overzealous crowd routing for their most beloved teams. Adrenaline filled the stadium as my heart was a flutter to be amongst so many passionate Latinos. Being a proud Colombian-American and having been surrounded by a wall (literally) of fans championing on their favorite player, felt comforting to be honest. Don’t get me wrong, in the past I’ve enjoyed outings at a number of sports arenas, (i.e. Yankee Stadium, MSG, and Shea Stadium) but never to this degree. The energy and the enthusiasm overwhelmed the space that will forever stand out as a picturesque moment in my life – aside for my personal accomplishments of course. What an amazing site of Latino presence and spending power with a record breaking 25K Latino fans in attendance – take that you naysayers! :p

BARON BANNER

Minutes leading up to the game, there was a window of opportunity for me to checkout Colombia’s team bench and entrance walkway. The volume of cheers was so overwhelming that I could feel the anxiousness of the players in the pit of my stomach. Can’t imagine what it’s like for this coveted team every time they step onto the field – oh, wait, I do! Lol! Click on the hyperlink here to see my POV shot walking onto the field. [And now back to the story] While I’m trying to soak all of this in, inside I’m squealing like a teenager inside my head at the thought that I was about to meet the same team that had millions of fans glued to their televisions sets during the 2014 FIFA’s World Cup. Breakout star James Rodriguez was the golden boy that everyone wanted to interview and/or capture on their lens – and to be honest, he didn’t disappoint. His practice run was on point; and when it came to game time, he was on his A-game. The game itself was an emotional roller coaster with everyone (myself included) on the edge of their seats. Peru (the opposing team) certainly gave Colombia a run for their money; but alas, Los Cafeteros (loving nickname for the Colombian National Team) made their team efforts known. I was beyond thrilled that I was one of the few on the field who captured Colombia’s first goal of the night as the crowd cheered with boisterous roars. It was as if the synergy had aligned and made for an exhilarating game. Sidenote: for highlights, click on the video below. Also, if video is reposted, credit this blog. Thank you.

The behind the scenes moments were a bit different, but nonetheless entertaining. Hadn’t seen so many Colombian journalists in my life. Some were friendly, others were ready to go at each others throats, literally. And there were others… well let’s just say, scantily clad ladies were included. And I’m not usually one to throw shade, but it was a bit disheartening to see. #NerdyGirl meets Telemundo's Sportscaster Veronica ContrerasI expect more from our hard working Latino community. Thankfully, not all hope was gone – reputable organizations like Telemundo47 were also on hand. Leading sportscaster Veronica Contreras was in attendance and was just as lovely in person as she is on TV. Poised, smart and graceful are the adjectives to best describe this professional. It was truly an honor to have met this powerhouse Latina. I can only hope this would be one of many golden opportunities to come. *Keeping my fingers crossed for 2016.*

Needless to say, the game was as nail biting as it is when seen at home. At the end of the night, scoreboard read 1 to 1 – both teams tied. And with that kiddies, that’s it for now. If you’d like to stay tuned to the next #NerdyGirl adventure, feel free to follow me via Instagram and/or Twitter. Enjoy pics and vids with the games best highlights above and below. Y hasta la proxima mi gente!

Artsy besos,

Roz Baron

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

